Friday, 29 March 2019

The Rolling Stones - It's Only Goats Head Soup...But We Like It (1974)

While recording their 70's albums The Rolling Stones often taped more songs than were needed, and once the final track listing was decided on these songs were filed away, eventually leaking out on bootleg CD's many years later. Their most prolific period seemed to have been between 1972 and 1974, more specifically during the recording of their 'It's Only Rock 'n' Roll' and 'Goats Head Soup' albums, and so here we have alternate mixes, extended takes and unreleased songs from those sessions. Some of the tracks seem to be dubbed from acetates so they can be a bit scratchy, but it's worth overlooking that to hear these songs before they were polished for their respective albums.  
As this is an actual CD that I found online and which needs a wider exposure, I've included front and back covers, and also full information about each song in the file. 

Track listing

01. It's Only Rock 'n' Roll (rough mix)
02. Ain't Too Proud To Beg (alternate mix)
03. Winter (alternate mix)
04. Silver Train (alternate mix)
05. Drift Away (unreleased song)
06. Time Waits For No One (long version)
07. Criss Cross Man (unreleased song)
08. Through The Lonely Nights (1974 b-side only)
09. Living In The Heart Of Love (unreleased song)
10. Too Many Cooks (Spoil The Broth) (unreleased Mick Jagger solo single) 
11. Angie (rough mix without reverb & 2nd keyboard overdub)
12. Dance Little Sister (alternate mix)
13. Till The Next Goodbye (alternate mix)
14. If You Can't Rock Me (alternate mix)
15. Fingerprint File (alternate longer mix)

Tracks 1,2,5,6,12,13,14,15 are 'It's Only Rock 'n' Roll' outtakes.
Tracks 3,4,7,8,11 are 'Goats Head Soup' outtakes.
Track 10 recorded at Record Plant,Los Angeles 1973.