Friday, 12 October 2018

Green Day - Cigarettes & Valentines (2003)

'Cigarettes & Valentines' was to have been the follow-up to 2000's 'Warning', but in November 2002, with the album nearly finished, the master tapes were mysteriously stolen from the band's studio. Instead of re-recording the album, the band decided to start from scratch, leading to the creation of the classic 'American Idiot'. They were later able to relocate and recover some material, and reworked this for b-sides to their singles. Green Day fan bskert has had a go at reconstructing the original 'Cigarettes & Valentines' album from possible track listings which he found on the net, and also his knowledge of the band in general, and this is what he's come up with. Some songs were later renamed for release on other albums, and so 'Dropout' is actually 'Brutal Love', 'Sleepyhead' later became 'Lazy Bones', 'Clusterbomb' was renamed 'Letterbomb', and 'Wasteaway' ended up as 'Oh Love'. The title track was only ever performed live and no studio recording of it exists. 

Track listing

01 Cigarettes & Valentines
02 Hearts Collide
03 Clusterbomb
04 Walk Away
05 Sleepyhead
06 Dropout
07 Too Much Too Soon
08 Favourite Son
09 Youngblood
10 Lights Out
11 Olivia
12 Governator

No comments:

Post a Comment