Tuesday, 4 December 2018

The Rutles - Rut Sounds (2017)

Not much to say about this one, other than the official press release from the band's press office. Glad to finally post this, as it includes some great songs like 'Immortal Invisible', 'Useless Illusion', and 'Down That Road'.
'Rut Sounds' is a 1966 album recorded by The Rutles. It was originally going to be an album by Les Garçons de la Plage (under the name "Pot Sounds"), but after their sudden breakup, Leggy Mountbatten decided to let the Rutles record it instead. This album has gone on to be considered one of the greatest albums of all time, second only to 'Sgt. Rutter's Only Darts Club Band'. Originally, the album was part of the US discography, but it was later added to the UK discography when The Rutles albums were first released on CD. 
There is an alternative cover around, but the picture of the band on donkeys was quite low-res, so I grabbed this screenshot from the 'All You Need Is Cash' film as I felt it fitted better with the vibe of the album, and I changed the font to resemble it's parent album.

Original cover

Track Listing

01 See The Light
02 Love Has Got Me 
03 Useless Illusions
04 Lie Down And Be Counted
05 Let's Go Away For Some Wine 
06 Etcetera

07 Early Morning Train 
08 Immortal Invisible
09 Sometimes It Happens 
10 God Is Love 
11 Rut Sounds
12 Down That Road 


*The Flames - 01, 03, 08
*Neil Innes - 04, 06, 10, 12
*Timebox - 02
*Ollie Halsall - 05, 11
*Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band - 07
*Brian Patten - 09



  1. Almost finished mastering my "Rutle Soul"... took a lot of clean-up work to get the quality consistent (the Flame CD is AWFUL quality), and EQ'ing some tracks to smooth things out. I'll be posting that online tomorrow.

  2. This comment has been removed by the author.