Tuesday, 24 March 2020

The Wailers - Dub Marley (1975)

During breaks in the sessions for the 'Rastaman Vibration' album, the Wailers (without Bob Marley) recorded ten of Marley's songs, which were then 'dubbed up', and gained a very limited release in Jamaica in 1976.  The dub cuts aren't bad, although far from adventurous in Sylvan Morris' mixing - it's more drop-in and drop-out rather than the journey to outer space that the best dub can be, but that said, the introduction to 'Concrete Jungle' has a wonderfully spooky edge, and the majesty of 'No Woman' is even more accented in its sparseness. The album was treated to a recent Record Store Day re-issue, but it's still very hard to track down, so for fans of reggae in general, or Marley in particular, this is a nice alternate look at some of his music. I've had to  make a couple of slight changes to the original release, as I found that the supposed dub of 'Soul Rebel' was in fact just the original instrumental version, so I've removed that and replaced it with dub versions of 'Roots, Rock, Reggae', 'Want More' and 'War' from the same 1975 sessions, with the last two being from original Tuff Gong dub-plates.

Track listing  

01 Get Up, Stand Up Dub
02 Natty Dread Dub
03 So Jah Seh Dub
04 Lively Up Yourself Dub
05 No Woman, No Cry Dub
06 Guava Jelly Dub
07 3 O'Clock Roadblock Dub
08 I Shot The Sheriff Dub
09 Concrete Jungle Dub
10 Want More Dub
11 Roots, Rock, Reggae Dub
12 War Dub

Enjoy / Enjoy