Tuesday, 7 April 2020

Phish - Remain In Light (1996)

When Halloween came around in 1996, Phish eschewed the fan-vote process and decided to simply pick their own musical costume. It’s a great thing that they did, because, in 1996, the world was blessed with Phish’s full-album cover of The Talking Heads' 'Remain In Light'. With two huge albums under their belt with 'The White Album' and 'Quadrophenia', perhaps the band wanted to pick a shorter album that they could really perfect. Adding horns and a percussionist to the mix, the band absolutely nailed the album, especially their version of 'Crosseyed And Painless', which remains a standout jam-vehicle for the band to this day.
Phish would go on to say that the work they put into perfecting their cover of 'Remain In Light' had a major impact on them moving forward, and you can hear on the albums that they released in the late 90’s. As if the Halloween tradition couldn’t get any more exciting, it started to become clear to the band and fans alike that this yearly process was helping launch Phish in new and exciting directions.

Track listing

01 Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On)
02 Crosseyed And Painless
03 The Great Curve
04 Once In A Lifetime
05 Houses In Motion
06 Seen And Not Seen
07 Listening Wind
08 The Overload

1 comment: